WhatsApp users have until February 8 to accept these new terms and conditions, WhatsApp meanwhile has repeated that all messages are end-to-end encrypted same as recent privacy policies.
WhatsApp has indicated that users may not be able to access their WhatsApp accounts if they do not accept the new terms and agreements (updated on January 4). A new notification has been popping up on every user’s WhatsApp notifying them that now the terms and policies are being updated.
Whatever information WhatsApp automatically collects from you will be shared with Facebook. This includes your mobile phone number and basic information you give when you create a WhatsApp account.
What is WhatsApp sharing with other Apps?
WhatsApp collects and shares user activity, how often you use WhatsApp, features you use, your display picture, your status and ‘about’ information.
It also collects technical information like what device you use, your mobile network, IP address. It also collects and uses precise location information from your device, but with your permission.
“We may use the information we receive from them, and they may use the information we share with them, to help operate, provide, improve, understand, customize, support, and market our Services and their offerings, including the Facebook Company Products,” WhatsApp says.
Your information could also be used by Facebook and its other products to make suggestions for you, personalise features and content, help you complete purchases and transactions, and show relevant offers and ads across the Facebook Company Products
The Facebook products include Facebook, Messenger, Instagram, Portal-branded devices, Oculus Products, Facebook Shops, Spark AR Studio, Audience Network, NPE Team apps and any other features, apps, technologies, software, products or services offered by Facebook Inc.
What about WhatsApp user’s messages?
WhatsApp has restated that all messages are end-to-end encrypted. This means that neither WhatsApp, nor any third parties will access or read your messages they are kept safe in your own device’s memory and will be accessible through your devices WhatsApp itself cannot even access your personal messages stored on your device.
“Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of our other family of apps for others to see, and nothing you post on those apps will be shared on WhatsApp for others to see,” WhatsApp says.
WhatsApp doesn’t store your messages once they’ve been delivered. Messages are stored on the user’s device and not on WhatsApp’s servers. Once messages are delivered, they are deleted from its servers.
In the course of delivering a message, WhatsApp’s servers store undelivered messages in encrypted form for up to 30 days and if a message is still undelivered after 30 days, WhatsApp claims to delete it.
“When a user forwards media within a message, we store that media temporarily in encrypted form on our servers to aid in more efficient delivery of additional forwards,” WhatsApp adds.
What you can do now?
For those users who have already accepted the new terms and conditions, but do not want WhatsApp to share data with Facebook, or other platforms, they will have an additional 30 days to delete their account.
To stay using WhatsApp, you must agree to the new terms and conditions of WhatsApp. If you do not want to, WhatsApp suggests deleting your account permanently.
Delete your WhatsApp account?
At first, users should make sure that they not only uninstall WhatsApp, but should also delete their account from WhatsApp. This can be done by going to settings to Account and selecting ‘Delete my account’.
WhatsApp says that when you remove your WhatsApp account, your undelivered messages will be deleted from its servers along with all of your information, it no longer needs to operate and provide its services.